What are Tarot Archetypes? 22 Important Examples

We explain how Tarot archetypes help us access deeper layers of our psyches and gain insight into our lives.

Tarot archetypes are symbolic images and themes that are found within the Tarot deck.

These are universal and timeless concepts that are represented through the various cards in the Tarot.

The archetypes can be seen as psychological or spiritual patterns that are present in all human beings.

How Do Archetypes Work In The Tarot?

In Tarot, archetypes are represented by the images on the cards and are used to access the deeper layers of the psyche.

Archetypes are universal, timeless, and cross-cultural, meaning that they are found in different cultures and time periods.

In Tarot, each card represents a particular archetype, which can be understood as a blueprint for a certain type of energy or experience.

The archetypes in Tarot are linked to specific images and symbols that help to evoke a particular emotional response and create a deeper connection to the meaning of the card.

For example, The Fool archetype represents the beginning of a journey, innocence, and taking risks.

Don’t miss out on this unique astrological opportunity!

Are you tired of spinning your wheels and getting nowhere? Well, there’s a reason you can’t get to where you want to go.

Simply put, you’re out of sync: you're out of alignment with your astral configuration.

But: there’s a kind of map that can help you find your alignment. Think of it as your own personal blueprint to success and happiness: a personal blueprint that will help you live your most amazing life. Find out more here!

The card shows a figure walking off a cliff with a dog by his side, which represents the willingness to take risks and the trust in the journey.

The archetype of The Fool can be understood as a reminder to embrace new opportunities with a sense of wonder and curiosity.

Similarly, The Magician archetype represents manifestation, creativity, and transformation.

The card shows a figure holding a wand, a cup, a sword, and a pentacle, which represent the elements of fire, water, air, and earth.

The Magician archetype can be understood as a reminder to tap into one’s creativity and power to manifest change in one’s life.

What are some of the most important Tarot archetypes?

Here are some examples of Tarot archetypes:

  1. The Fool: The Fool represents new beginnings, spontaneity, and a willingness to take risks. It can also represent naivety, ignorance, or a lack of foresight.
  2. The Magician: The Magician represents manifestation, creativity, and the ability to transform one’s reality. It can also represent trickery or manipulation.
  3. The High Priestess: The High Priestess represents intuition, psychic ability, and hidden knowledge. It can also represent secrecy or a tendency towards withdrawal.
  4. The Empress: The Empress represents nurturing, abundance, and creativity. It can also represent possessiveness or overindulgence.
  5. The Emperor: The Emperor represents authority, structure, and stability. It can also represent rigidity or a lack of flexibility.
  6. The Hierophant: The Hierophant represents tradition, religion, and spirituality. It can also represent dogmatism or a lack of spiritual growth.
  7. The Lovers: The Lovers represent love, passion, and unity. It can also represent indecision or a lack of commitment.
  8. The Chariot: The Chariot represents determination, willpower, and success. It can also represent aggression or a lack of control.
  9. Strength: Strength represents courage, inner strength, and perseverance. It can also represent stubbornness or a lack of flexibility.
  10. The Hermit: The Hermit represents introspection, solitude, and wisdom. It can also represent loneliness or isolation.
  11. The Wheel of Fortune: The Wheel of Fortune represents change, cycles, and destiny. It can also represent instability or unpredictability.
  12. Justice: Justice represents fairness, balance, and impartiality. It can also represent harshness or a lack of compassion.
  13. The Hanged Man: The Hanged Man represents surrender, sacrifice, and letting go. It can also represent stagnation or a lack of progress.
  14. Death: Death represents transformation, change, and rebirth. It can also represent fear or resistance to change.
  15. Temperance: Temperance represents balance, harmony, and moderation. It can also represent extremes or a lack of self-control.
  16. The Devil: The Devil represents materialism, addiction, and temptation. It can also represent bondage or a lack of freedom.
  17. The Tower: The Tower represents sudden change, upheaval, and destruction. It can also represent a wake-up call or a necessary transformation.
  18. The Star: The Star represents hope, inspiration, and guidance. It can also represent disillusionment or a lack of direction.
  19. The Moon: The Moon represents the subconscious, intuition, and mystery. It can also represent confusion or a lack of clarity.
  20. The Sun: The Sun represents clarity, joy, and success. It can also represent ego or a lack of humility.
  21. Judgment: Judgment represents rebirth, renewal, and awakening. It can also represent guilt or a fear of judgment.
  22. The World: The World represents completion, fulfillment, and harmony. It can also represent a sense of being trapped or limited.

Are There Tarot Archetypes That Symbolize Pregnancy or Fertility in Dreams?

Tarot archetypes like the Empress or Queen of Cups symbolize fertility and pregnancy in dreams.

🔥 Ready to meet your Twin Flame?

Do you know what your Twin Flame soulmate looks like? 💓

Master Wang is a "psychic artist" and a master of astrology; he's famous in China for being able to draw anyone's soulmate.

Thousands of people have found love thanks to Master Wang's gift.

Don't delay! Yes, I want my Twin Flame soulmate drawing!

When these cards appear, they may represent the meaning of pregnancy dreams.

It could signify new beginnings, nurturing, and the creation of new life.

These archetypes can offer insight into the dreamer’s subconscious desires and fears about pregnancy.

Why We Should Learn About Tarot Archetypes

Tarot archetypes are universal, timeless, and deeply rooted in human consciousness.

They represent fundamental images, symbols, and patterns that help us access deeper layers of our psyches and gain insight into our lives.

Through Tarot readings and meditation, we can connect with the archetypes and use them to guide us on our journey toward self-discovery and transformation.

By understanding the meaning and symbolism of the archetypes, we can access a deeper level of wisdom and connect with the universal patterns of human experience.

Tarot archetypes offer a powerful tool for personal growth and spiritual development, allowing us to tap into the collective unconscious and explore the mysteries of the human psyche.

Thanks for reading! Check out our other posts on astrology and tarot here.

Psych News Daily logo - bringing you current psychology news


All of the articles on PsychNewsDaily are written by our team of professional writers and editors. We have a strict editorial process that involves several steps.
This process ensures that all of the articles on PsychNewsDaily are of the highest quality, and that our readers can trust that they are reading accurate and well-researched information.
And that helps explain why our articles have been picked up by leading international media outlets such as Bloomberg News, the Harvard Business Review, CBS News, NBC News, TechCrunch, Business Insider, Fox News, the NY Post, Dallas Morning News, Futurism.com, Reason, Yahoo News, Townhall, The Journal (Ireland), Science Times, Stern (Germany), Der Standard (Austria), NPO (the Netherlands), and elsewhere. See a more complete list of media mentions here.